Cost & pricing reference

Hermes Agent Cost

Hermes Agent is free. The software is open source under the MIT License from Nous Research: no license fee, seat fee, or paid tier of the agent itself. What can cost money is what Hermes uses — the model that does the thinking, optional hosted tools, and a server if it has to run while your computer is off.

A true $0 setup exists: Hermes on your own computer with the free Nous Portal plan (free models only) or a local model on hardware you already own. Every other setup is a fixed part (subscription or hosting) plus a variable part (model and tool usage). The scenarios below compute the fixed part exactly from published prices and leave the variable part as a variable, because it depends on how much you use Hermes.

Checked against official Nous Research sources on September 26, 2026 (Hermes Agent v0.21.5).

The five cost buckets

BucketWhat it isPrice as publishedCan it be $0?
Hermes Agent softwareThe agent, CLI, desktop app, gateway, dashboard$0 — MIT LicenseAlways
Model inferenceTokens sent to a model provider, or a plan that includes them. See models.Per-token API prices, a subscription you already pay for, Nous Portal credits, or local hardwareYes, with Portal free models or a local model
Hosted toolsWeb search, image generation, TTS, browser automation run by a third partyNous Portal Tool Gateway (paid plans, billed from credits) or each tool vendor's own key and pricingYes, if you don't enable them
Infrastructure / hostingWhere Hermes runs when your computer is off — see hostingYour hardware and power, a VPS plan, Hermes Cloud per day, or a managed host's planYes, on your own computer
Storage & backupsServer disk, provider backups, stopped-instance storagee.g. Hermes Cloud stopped: $0.03/day; DigitalOcean backups: +20% (weekly) or +30% (daily) of the Droplet priceYes, locally

Current published prices

Checked September 26, 2026 on each provider's own page. Prices exclude tax unless stated.

ItemPublished priceWhat it covers
Hermes Agent$0MIT-licensed software
Nous Portal Free$0Free models only; $0 monthly credits
Nous Portal Plus / Super / Ultra$20 / $100 / $200 per month$22 / $110 / $220 monthly credits for models, Tool Gateway, and Hermes Cloud
Hermes Cloud Medium$0.56/day running, $0.03/day stoppedHosting only (2 GB RAM, 4 vCPUs); models and tools on top
Hermes Cloud Large$1.09/day running, $0.03/day stoppedHosting only (4 GB RAM, 8 vCPUs); models and tools on top
FlyHermes Pro (independent)$49/month, or $39/month billed yearly ($468)Hosting plus model access up to an unpublished monthly allowance
Hostinger Managed Hermes Agent$5.99/month on a 2-year term paid upfront; renews at $11.99/monthHosting plus pre-configured AI credits (amount unpublished); excludes VAT
DigitalOcean Basic Droplet, 4 GiB / 2 vCPU$24/monthServer only — the size DigitalOcean uses in its Hermes 1-Click example

Worked monthly scenarios

Each scenario shows fixed cost + variable cost. Fixed costs are arithmetic on the prices above (30-day month where a price is per day). “Variable” means we cannot know your total: it depends on the model's per-token price, how long conversations get, how many tool calls run, and how often scheduled jobs fire. We do not invent token volumes to force a total.

ScenarioFixed per month+ VariableOnline when your computer is off?
1. Local + Nous Portal Free$0$0 (free models only)No
2. Local + a local model$0 new spendElectricity; the hardware must be able to run the modelNo
3. Local + a subscription you already pay for$0 new spendCounts against that plan; Claude Max bills only extra-usage creditsNo
4. Local + pay-per-token API key$0Every token at the provider's priceNo
5. Local + Nous Portal Plus$20 (includes $22 credits)Only usage beyond $22 of creditsNo
6. VPS (DigitalOcean 4 GiB) + API key$24, or $28.80 with weekly backupsAll model and tool usageYes
7. Hermes Cloud Medium 24/7 + Portal Plus$20 (Cloud uses $16.80 of the $22 credits)Usage beyond the remaining $5.20 of creditsYes
8. Hermes Cloud Large 24/7 + Portal Plus$20 + $10.70 extra credit ($32.70 of hosting vs $22 credits)All model and tool usageYes
9. Hermes Cloud Large 24/7 + Portal Super$100 (Cloud uses $32.70 of the $110 credits)Usage beyond the remaining $77.30Yes
10. FlyHermes Pro$49 monthly, or $39 billed yearlyUsage beyond the unpublished allowance (terms not stated on the pricing page)Yes
11. Hostinger Managed Hermes Agent$5.99 for 24 months ($143.76 upfront), then $11.99Usage beyond included credits: buy more or connect your own providerYes

The arithmetic

  • Hermes Cloud Medium: $0.56 × 30 = $16.80. Against Plus credits: $22 − $16.80 = $5.20 left for models and tools.
  • Hermes Cloud Large: $1.09 × 30 = $32.70. Against Plus: $32.70 − $22 = $10.70 short before any model use. Against Super: $110 − $32.70 = $77.30 left.
  • Hermes Cloud stopped all month: $0.03 × 30 = $0.90 (storage only; data kept).
  • DigitalOcean backups: 20% × $24 = $4.80 weekly; 30% × $24 = $7.20 daily. $24 + $4.80 = $28.80.
  • FlyHermes yearly: $39 × 12 = $468 billed once a year; monthly billing is $49 × 12 = $588 a year.
  • Hostinger Managed: $5.99 × 24 = $143.76 upfront; at renewal $11.99 × 24 = $287.76 per 2-year term.
Sources disagree: The Hermes Cloud page says instances “scale to zero when idle” and “you only pay while it works”, while its pricing is described per running day. “Idle” is not defined, so the 24/7 figures are upper bounds for hosting, not measured bills.
Our inference: Scenarios 7–9 assume Portal credits are spent on Cloud hosting first. The Portal says one credit balance covers models, tools, and Cloud, but does not state an order. The split is our arithmetic, not a Nous statement.

What moves the variable part

  • Which model. Per-token prices differ between models by large multiples; the model choice usually matters more than the hosting choice once you use Hermes daily.
  • Long agent loops. Each tool call adds to the conversation, so later turns resend more context. Providers that support prompt caching bill repeated context at a lower cached-input rate; check your provider's usage report for actual savings.
  • Auxiliary tasks. Session titling, context compression, and similar background work use your main model unless you configure a cheaper auxiliary model — see models.
  • Scheduled jobs and bots. An always-on agent costs model money only when it runs a turn. Scheduled jobs and Bot Mode group chats (every bot reply is its own request) add turns you did not type.
  • Hosted tools. Web search, images, TTS, and browser automation are billed on usage, either from Portal credits through the Tool Gateway or by each tool's own vendor.

To see real spend, use your provider's usage dashboard or the Portal's credit history. Inside Hermes, /usage shows the session's token usage and estimated cost (plus remaining quota or credits when the provider exposes them), and /insights summarizes the last 30 days. For a per-job breakdown of scheduled tasks, see Hermes Cron Cost.

Common questions

Is Hermes Agent free?

Yes. The software costs nothing and is MIT-licensed. You pay only for the models, tools, and hosting you choose to use.

Do I need a subscription?

No. You can use an API key (pay per token), a subscription you already have, the free Nous Portal plan, or a local model. Nous Portal paid plans are optional.

Is managed hosting cheaper than a VPS?

The published fixed prices are not comparable on their own: the VPS and Hermes Cloud figures exclude model usage, while FlyHermes and Hostinger Managed include an allowance of unpublished size. Compare fixed + your expected model spend, not the headline price. The hosting comparison covers the non-price differences.

Provider sites: FlyHermes (goes through our /go/hosted redirect and may be a referral link; it does not change the figures on this page). HermesAgentAI.org is independent of every provider listed.

Primary sources

HermesAgentAI.org is an independent educational documentation resource and community guide. It is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Nous Research or FlyHermes. Hermes Agent is released under the MIT License by Nous Research.

Where to go next